Surviving The Gauntlet

P.G. Barnett
4 min readApr 19, 2019

Most times it’s not how fast you run.

Matt Light Foundation

As a writer (yeah, I call myself that these days) my creative process has started to adopt a strange pattern of ebbs and flows. There are days I’m on fire. Story ideas fill my brain to overflowing. I furiously capture them in a notebook for fear of forgetting them. Recently, I’ve had days when I crank out two, three, sometimes four pieces a day. Times when I’ve hammered out six to seven thousand words inside an eight hour period.

Times when “prolific” is my middle name.

Then all of a sudden, I’m staring at a blank page and the only thing tickling my synapses is the sound of crickets.

These are the times I’m traveling through the gauntlet.

The mental, self-flagellation I put myself through when I struggle with my writing is just as torturous as walking a physical gauntlet.

In olden days the Royal Navy had a rather nasty form of corporal punishment known as walking the gauntlet. An offender of a minor offense was stripped at the waist and forced to walk along a channel formed by his fellow sailors as they whipped the man with knittles — long cords of leather and rope knotted at the end.

--

--

P.G. Barnett

A published author enjoying married Texas bliss. Dog person living with cats. A writer of Henry James' stories. Featured In MuckRack. Top Writer In Fiction.